On the lighter note of things, I got a chance to get out of Danang for a bit to tour around this beautiful town called “Hoi An”.

IMG_0871

IMG_0868

IMG_0873

I spy a turtle!!

I spy a turtle!!

IMG_0876

Water coconut trees!

Water coconut trees!

IMG_0881

IMG_0882

IMG_0883

IMG_0885

Hoi An's best "banh beo"!! The grandma that made these makes 500 of them a day and has done it for 36 years.

Hoi An’s best “banh beo”!! The grandma that made these makes 500 of them a day and has done it for 36 years.

Eating on the sidewalk like a true Vietnamese person.

Eating on the sidewalk like a true Vietnamese person.

IMG_0889

My dad bought a fan because it was too hot LOOOOL. He just had to pick a lavender-coloured one. #yolo

My dad bought a fan because it was too hot LOOOOL. He just had to pick a lavender-coloured one. #yolo

She's making a lantern!!

She’s making a lantern!!

Her lantern shop.

Her lantern shop.

Not all of these plates are mine LOL.

Not all of these “banh beo” plates are mine LOL.

IMG_0896

IMG_0898

I thought about my older sister and bro-in-law. They bought a magnet like this last year and its head broke off LOOL.

I thought about my older sister and bro-in-law. They bought a magnet like this last year and its head broke off LOOL.

IMG_0900

IMG_0901

IMG_0907

Underneath the leaves are beef!! Yummm. Oh yeah, the leaves are edible too. Coolios!

Underneath the leaves are beef!! Yummm. Oh yeah, the leaves are edible too. Coolios!

IMG_0909

Heading onto the Japanese Bridge.

Heading onto the Japanese Bridge. Like woah, a Japanese bridge.

The dog that "guards" the bridge.

The dog that “guards” the bridge.

Selling corn.

Selling corn.

IMG_0914

People made these out of tree roots!!

People made these out of tree roots!!

Vietnamese fans. My grandma used to own one of these.

Vietnamese fans. My grandma used to own one of these.

Beautiful writing!

Beautiful writing!

Traditional Vietnamese gowns.

Traditional Vietnamese gowns.

OH MY GOD, MC!! Does this picture ring any bells??

OH MY GOD, MC!! Does this picture ring any bells??

Lemon grass ice cream. Soooo gooood and exotic.

Lemon grass ice cream. Soooo gooood and exotic.

IMG_0928

Street painting.

Street painting.

Little girl selling lanterns!

Little girl selling lanterns!

IMG_0933

Van bought me one of these as a souvenir. Thanks, Van!

Van bought me one of these as a souvenir. Thanks, Van!

Please tell me I didn't get fatter since you last saw me.

Please tell me I didn’t get fatter since you last saw me.

People letting their lanterns float and go along with the flow. #tangled in real life

People letting their lanterns float and go along with the flow. #tangled in real life